Author Topic: Something different: ME 323 Gigant  (Read 11331 times)

Kiteman

Something different: ME 323 Gigant
« on: February 11, 2015, 03:51:10 PM »
So here is a kit that I have had for a couple of years and thought it about time to put it together as a change to plastic modelling. When finished this should fly, which it will, but how often we shall have to see. I am not experienced in building Balsa models, I have build a small scale FW 190 and that was ok but it was never intended to fly it. This is summat different, it is big (1.66m Wingspan scale 1:33) and has a few more parts than the FW.
In order to build this aircraft I have had to first build a desk on which to work. This I have managed to fit it nicely in the corner of the modelling room. Then I made a start....it`s all glue and pins with cutting and sanding to get a perfect fit. The wood stock supplied does not comply exactly to the instructions but, as an engineer, there is nothing there that I cannot overcome.
It is a totally different discipline, am so far I am enjoying the challenge but I have a long way to go. I have no idea how long such a build takes and will still be building plastic along the way. I need to reduce my stash and get it under 200 models....running out of space you see.
I hope that this interests you guys although it is not plastic, I shall keep you informed:

[attachment deleted by admin]

zak

• Grumpy by name and nature
    • View Profile
Re: Something different: ME 323 Gigant
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2015, 03:56:24 PM »
I have built the odd balsa wood plane in the past but never attempted to fly them.
Good luck.
I think adhesives have improved and so it should go ok.
What glues are you using?
Grumpy by name and nature

Kiteman

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2015, 04:24:51 PM »